Be On Your Best Behavior

good mannersImage Source

The subject of manners and etiquette usually come up when discussing special occasions, but there are many people better suited than I to teach you the ins and outs of polite society. These are just a few.

If you’re someone who prides themselves on good manners, you should remember that touting them at the expense of others is the epitome of bad manners.

I saw this quote today and it reminded me of this fabulous (and more than likely fictitious) story about Queen Elizabeth II. As the story goes, the Queen was hosting a grand dinner and as the meal drew to a close, the guest of honor picked up his finer bowl and began to sip from it. Hiding what must have been her pure horror, the smiled and followed suit much to the shock of her guests, and began sipping from her finger bowl as well. The point here, whether this story is true or not, is that the most important thing to remember about being a gracious host is to always make your guests feel comfortable, even if it  sometimes means eschewing the “proper” way of doing something.

11 thoughts on “Be On Your Best Behavior

    • Thanks for stopping by! True or not, I love that story. I think too many people get caught up in worry about propriety when they should be more concerned with graciousness.

  1. Hi Amanda,

    What a great story! You’re right, as a host it’s always good to be gracious, no matter what! I found you @ the Newbie Blogger Community. I am about a month and a half new to blogging myself. I’d love for you to stop by and meet other bloggers over at my Blog Hop that is going on all weekend. Please share this post there too. I think my readers would like it. Hope to see you there 🙂

    Jessica
    The Wondering Brain

  2. Hi — found you via the Weekend Show Off blog hop. I love the idea that the main goal when entertaining is to make people feel comfortable and be gracious! Looking forward to connecting.

Leave a Reply

